31 Oct 2021


We brought the curtain down on a fantastic season with the end of season awards night held at Eden. 

Compared by the excellent Gary McKeating, it was a brilliant evening.

Massive thank you to Paul and Ash at Eden, (The Hungry Caterpillar) and our volunteers Joanne, Casson, Megan and Vicky for all their hard work in helping set up the venue. 

The evening saw us also recognise Jimmy Woolaghan's time and efforts at the club with a lifetime achievement award, he received a personalised shirt, a detailed announcement about his time at the club and some wonderful written and video tributes from his friends around the globe! 

Well done Jimmy and thank you.

Here are your winners:

Chairman's award for an outstanding contribution to the club: Scott Graham.

Directors clubman of the year award: The Covid crew, The Pitch maintenance team, Stephen Daniel, The Tom Mitchell hospitality team, the volunteer bar and turnstile operators and the social media team. 

Award kindly sponsored by Sharpy at AB Carpets.

The Newsquest Times and Star Readers Player of the Year: Matty Henson.

Also nominated, Runner up Conor Fitzsimmons, Joint 3rd - Jamie Doran and Marcus O'Brien.

The Shaun Weaver Player of the Year: Caine Barnes.

The Workington Town Supporters Club Player of the Year in memory of George Petre: Conor Fitzsimmons.

The Derwent Park Supporters Club Player of the Year: Conor Fitzsimmons.

The Travelers Rest Supporters Club - Fred Todhunter Memorial trophy - Player of the Year: Ethan Bickerdike.

The Brian Ritson Award for 'Most influential Townie on or off the pitch' presented by Brian's son Neil: Chris Thorman.

Golden boot award: Carl Forber. - 76 goals. 

Award sponsored by Mark Cant, Cumbrian Tea.

Try of the season: Brad Holroyd v London Skolars at home. 

Award kindly sponsored by Dale Hooper at KTE Memorabilia.

Top Points scorer 2021: Carl Forber. 76 goals and 6 tries - 176 points.

Award kindly sponsored by Dave Hillhouse at Derwent Gas Ltd.

Top Try scorer: Brad Holroyd. 17 tries.

Award kindly sponsored by Callum Moffat at Cocktails with Callum.

Moment of the season: Carl Forber for his late, late try after the hooter v Rochdale Hornets!

Kindly sponsored by Darren Pape son of Kevin Pape at D.Pape Tiling, Bathrooms and Plumbing.

Players Young Player of the Year: Brad Holroyd, Runner up Ethan Bickerdike, Joint 3rd Zac Olstrom and Jake Lightowler.

Kindly sponsored by All Stars Rugby Ltd , thank you to Rhys Clarke and Joe Brown.

Players Player of the Year: Conor Fitzsimmons, Runner up Brad Holroyd, 3rd place Marcus O'Brien.

Award kindly sponsored by Walkingshaw VW and Kia, Lillyhall.

Eric Easterbrook trophy for Most improved Player of the Year - Chosen By Chris Thorman: Ethan Bickerdike, 

Other nominees were: Ryan Wilson, Zac Olstrom.

Award kindly sponsored by Mark Cant at Cumbrian Tea.

The John Bentley award for Coaches Player and person of the year - awarded for player who has consistently delivered the club's ethos on and off the pitch: Hanley Dawson.

Award kindly sponsored by Paul Williamson at Firpress Printers, Clay Flatts.

Player of the Year 2021: Joint winners - Chosen by Chris Thorman:

Conor Fitzsimmons and Brad Holroyd.

Award kindly sponsored by Walkingshaw VW and Kia, Lillyhall.

The awards were brought to an end as we said goodbye to Brad Holroyd who cited location and travel time as the only reasons he's left the club to join Widnes Vikings but stated he has 'loved it at Town' and then we were delighted to announce that forward Conor Fitzsimmons has signed a new 2 year deal at the club! 

Great news and great to have you back on board Conor! 

Well done to all the winners, thank you for all the support from our sponsors and partners throughout the season and all who sponsored the awards on the night!